License Reciprocity VS. Mutual Recognition | Florida Real Estate

 Let’s set things straight - license reciprocity and mutual recognition are not the same. Florida has real estate mutual recognition, not license reciprocity, with various states (US. armed service members and their spouses are exempted from this rule). But what exactly is the difference between these two terms? 

What is License Reciprocity?

Real estate license reciprocity refers to two states forming an agreement that recognizes the other state’s real estate licenses. This allows a licensee in one state to practice real estate in the other state without having to obtain another license.

In other words, you don’t need to apply for a real estate license, submit fingerprints for a background check, nor pass the state exam. All you need is an active real estate license to qualify. 

Florida does
not have real estate license reciprocity with any other state. However, this rule does not apply to U.S. armed service members and their spouses.  

What is Mutual Recognition?

This is an agreement between states that allows you to get a license in another state without repeating the education and licensing process from scratch. In most cases, like in Florida, you don’t need to take the state-required pre-licensing education. Simply pass the 40-question Florida law exam and you’re ready to go. 

Florida has mutual recognition agreements with nine states:

  • Alabama
  • Arkansas
  • Connecticut
  • Georgia
  • Illinois
  • Kentucky
  • Mississippi
  • Nebraska
  • Rhode Island

Mutual Recognition Requirements 

  1. You must be at least 18 years old. 
  2. You must hold a high school diploma or its equivalent.
  3. You must be an active resident from any of the states listed above and not an active Florida resident. Hence, it is crucial to take the exam before moving to Florida. Doing this in reverse order makes you ineligible for mutual recognition. 
  4. You must have obtained your real estate license by meeting the education and examination requirements of the other state. Additionally, your real estate license must be active and in good standing. You will also need to present a certification of current license history.
  5. As part of the application process, you must have your electronic fingerprints taken by a state-approved livescan service provider. Note that you should disclose any and all criminal convictions in your record. Otherwise, the state will deny your license application. 
  6. You are not required to take the entire state exam. The state only requires you to pass a 40-question exam about Florida real estate law. The passing score is 75% or higher.

How to pass the Florida law mutual recognition exam 

Passing the Florida law mutual recognition exam on the first try is possible, but you must study the right material. Reading the real estate book from cover to cover is not the most effective. You need to focus your study solely on real estate law and nothing else so you can pass the 40-question exam.

That is why we highly recommend you to sign up for our
mutual recognition exam prep database so you can pass on the first try. Our exam prep database showcases over 450 exam-style questions with detailed explanations. We also feature over 50 instructor-taught videos to help you deeply understand the concept of Florida real estate law.

Be ready to pass the Florida law mutual recognition exam in only 15 to 20 hours of study time. 
Sign up for our exam prep database now and learn from the comfort of your home or office!

You may also like

My Real Estate Tutor Reviews: “This material was definitely set up for everyone to pass the first time.”

My Real Estate Tutor Reviews: “This material was definitely set up for everyone to pass the first time.”